Solemn Solitudes

Is being in solitude a positive thing?

There are many who could argue both sides.

Perhaps it’s all about balance.

Regardless of our disposition, my extensive years of experience in deep reflection and solitary adventures may convince you of the value of being alone, or inspire you to take more time alone, if you are already doing that.

Looking back 42 years ago, before living independently, I was totally dependent on my parents, as we all were.

1981

A professional outlook from Rees at BJGP, describes a child’s attachment and dependency to their parents as a,

“…closeness which binds families in order to prepare children for independence…”

She goes further to point out the important role of the parents on the future outcome of their child’s entire life, based on that bond or attachment with their child, for better of for worse.

Based on modern scientific studies, one might claim we had no autonomous thoughts or behaviours until the age of six.

Then, we start developing our own unique thoughts, and eventually, our own behaviours.

We become an independent and unique human being.

Or do we have it all wrong?

Based on a more pious perspective, we were born unique, with highly functioning independent thought.

If this is true, then we may owe the children of the world more credit than we are presently providing.

If I dare take this concept one step further, we may be born with divinely inspired wisdom, which would ultimately take precedence over the modern scientific theory, that there is in fact, a higher science-and that the higher knowledge we acquire in life is innate.

This is in fact, touching on the nature versus nurture theory, as some of us may recall from our early years in school-but instead of giving tribute to nature, natural selection, Darwinian thought or evolution, we are giving praise to the divine.

Perhaps it’s time for humanity to take a step back and consider allowing the divine to take a role in our lives-take a chance and consider the possibility that human science isn’t the only law that governs the universe.

Returning to the autonomous thought development process of children, we are faced with a choice: do we believe their independent thought came from human experience or did it originate the day they were born?

So how does the origin of independent thought relate to finding solitude?

2003

Understanding childhood autonomy led me to reflect and contemplate a large portion of my adolescence.

In essence, it dawned on me that I had been obtaining knowledge from one place most of my life: outside myself.

After decades of personal, professional and spiritual experience, it finally came to me: the greatest key to understanding myself comes from searching inward.

This simple yet profound piece of truth drastically altered and improved my entire life.

It allowed me to understand clearly, my strengths and weaknesses, joys and fears, friends and foes-to live truly how it best suits my own character, rather than the way someone else would want me to.

In essence, this small change allowed me to find more freedom, peace and joy than I ever did before.

So you see, many of us were taught to seek information outside ourselves since we were children, rather than the one place that connects us to our full potential: within ourselves.

It’s humorous to me that it took half a lifetime to discover this simple truth.

2014

But it was worth it.

It has taught me why my patterns of success or failure occurred-why relationships were gained or lost-even to the causes of thoughts I had about myself or others.

The self-reflection process over the years has been a real eye-opener.

I’d like to take a moment to thank a few folks for assisting me in my self-reflection process and ability to improve myself in my life journey:

  • My Father, for teaching me strength and resilience
  • My Mother, for her kindness, love and wisdom
  • My Wife Cindy, for her patience, devotion and love
  • My Friends of Bridlewood Elementary School, A.Y. Jackson Secondary School and the Falun Dafa Association
  • Members of the Tian Guo Marching Band, for bringing music and inspiration into my life and the world
  • Life Counsellors Julie Petrynko and Chi-Jen Hung, for guiding me to find my true potential

Sources

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑